VTT 113 Guide for Ethics Essay: Articles
Getting Started
Reminders
- Remember to work with the NAVTA Veterinary Technician Code of Ethics.
- Find three peer-reviewed articles from library databases.
- Be sure to look at Citing Sources early in your research process so you can record all the important information on the sources you find.
Search Multiple Databases
If this search yields too many results, try:
- add additional search terms
- limit by date
- "Limit by Database" to Associates Program Source Plus
Search tips
- Phrase your search several ways -- try "canine" if "dog" doesn't work
- Search for plural and singular -- try both "cat disease" and "cat diseases"
- If you are getting too many results, limit the results to items published within the last 5 years
- Ask a librarian!
Individual Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.
Paper Journals in the Library
You'll find the most recent issues in the Magazine Display area; back issues are in the northeast corner of the main floor. To make copies: Scan for FREE to your email or a USB drive. Printing or photocopies are 10 cents a page.
- Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
- NAVTA Journal (most not peer reviewed, emphasis on Continuing Education articles)
- Vetted (not peer reviewed)
Available upstairs in the stacks at SF 601.V525 from 1979
Online Magazines & Journals for Veterinary Technology
- Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association
- Available online from 1998
- American Journal of Veterinary Research
Your Librarian
Jane Smith
she/her
Contact:
Learning Commons
Office number: R234
(behind Research Help Desk)
janesmith@parkland.edu
Office number: R234
(behind Research Help Desk)
janesmith@parkland.edu
217-351-2410