Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ESL 101: Article Databases

Try these first!

Articles in magazines and journals usually have way more credibility than websites. Use Databases  to search for articles on a topic. Here are a few to get you started and more are listed in the boxes below:

Databases by Title

Off Campus Login

Clicking links on this page may take you to a login page. 

Use your ParklandOne login to access library resources.  

  • This is the same login you use for Cobra, my.parkland, etc.
  • Please contact the library if you have difficulty accessing our resources.
  • Contact Tech SD to reset your password or get other information about your campus online accounts.

Tips

Useful Tips:

  • Look beyond the first 10.  There may be good stuff a way down the list.
  • Research is process. You search for information, read it, assess it for whether it covers your topic and meets your needs, then you take what you learned from the first time and search for information again.
  • When you see something good, READ IT—look at the subject terms and abstract and turn those around in a revised search.

FAQ

  • What if I can’t link to full text?
  • See a librarian!  It may be in a different database, available in our paper subscriptions, or available from another library.  We can help you navigate those choices.
  • How do I know which database to try?
  • The ones on the “Top Five” lists are good places to start.  Be sure to check the Subject Specialties tab, and choose a database from there.  Or ask a librarian by phone, email or chat

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to search the title of a magazine or journal to see if full text of that resource is available in any of the library databases.

Don't use Journal Finder to search for articles.  Use one of the databases in the columns to the left.

Parkland College Library
2400 West Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821

217/373-3839
Fax: 217/351-2581