Web Site: Articles and Databases: Title List

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window “Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.”
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window "Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research."For assistance finding full-text articles, please contact the Library.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
AP Stylebook Online This link opens in a new window “AP Stylebook Online is a searchable, customizable guide for writers and editors that is updated throughout the year. Your subscription includes the popular Ask the Editor feature, where you can ask your own questions and search thousands of past answers, and Topical Guides, offering guidance to help you write about events in the news.”
ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Auto Repair Source This link opens in a new window Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides library users with the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date “do-it-yourself” service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported cars, SUVs, vans and light trucks.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window Biography Reference Source provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Book Collection: Nonfiction This link opens in a new window Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database providing abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. Designed for public libraries, it covers core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Primer for "hot topics" in culture and politics. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Dentistry & Oral Science This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Full-length theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic, and chamber music. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides
Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. Brought to you in partnership with Global Eagle, this high-interest collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Get information on careers and industries, as well as help with resumes, cover letters, and interviews.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window "GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records."
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
Hobbies and Crafts Source This link opens in a new window Hobbies & Crafts Source is a DIY database of leading full-text hobby and craft magazines, hobby profiles, recipes and videos to inspire creativity and nurture extra-curricular interests. Available through the Explora experience for public libraries and schools, Hobbies & Crafts Source allows users to conduct keyword searches and browse by category.
Home Improvement Source This link opens in a new window Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.
ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window International Clinical Educators, Inc. offers streaming video and multimedia texts of particular interest to Neuro/Ortho/Peds/Occupational Therapy.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies covers more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.
Journal of Medical Insight This link opens in a new window The Journal of Medical Insight (JOMI) publishes peer-reviewed videos with incision to closure instruction, key animations, and expert insight. Explore 260 videos across 13+ specialities.To access this resource: 1. Click the arrow of the dropdown menu where it says "Institutions". 2. Choose Parkland College from the list. 3. Click the Login via OpenAthens button.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Learning Express This link opens in a new window The LearningExpress suite of highly-acclaimed eLearning solutions provides interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more. These award-winning learning tools are available through multiple online platforms designed to help students and professionals achieve their educational and career goals.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window Legal Source is the definitive resource for keeping up to date with current legal issues, studies, thoughts, and trends. It serves as an invaluable tool for attorneys, educators, business professionals, law librarians, students, paralegals, and all individuals engaged with the intricacies of the law.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Libby This link opens in a new window Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from the library for free with the Libby app.
Library & Information Science Source This link opens in a new window Library & Information Science Source stands as the premier full-text database for studies in library and information science. Housing a collection of 322 active full-text journals, a substantial portion of which undergo peer review, this database encompasses a broad spectrum of related topics, such as librarianship, classification, information management, and the history of library studies.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
LSC Author Talks This link opens in a new window
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and thousands of primary source documents and videos. Subjects include history, current events, science and sports.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Newsbank - Access World News This link opens in a new window A comprehensive full-text database with sources from more than 200 countries and all 50 U.S. states. This database includes same-day access to The News-Gazette articles and other local papers as well as newspapers from around the world.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window Access to The New York Times. Use this link for instructions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
NoveList This link opens in a new window NoveList provides rich information on a variety of books so that readers of all ages can connect to materials through their library that match their reading level and interests.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window "Primal’s market-leading anatomy software brings essential clarity and evidenced-based accuracy to a wide range of courses that help students in over 1500 colleges and universities around the world grasp course material, prepare for lab time, and study for exams with confidence."
Primary Search This link opens in a new window Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection includes full text for high-quality education journals and reports
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free to search. Parkland does not subscribe.* The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. 
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Saskia Art Image Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window Small Business Source offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to understand and address a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans.
Small Engine Repair Source This link opens in a new window This reference database provides detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from motorcycles and ATVs to generators and outdoor power equipment.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Veterinary Source This link opens in a new window Veterinary Source is a full text collection of scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare. International in scope, it is an essential resource for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, assistants, and students. Providing access to research on the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of diseases and injury in animals, it also covers topics related to animal nutrition, reproduction, and breeding.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Woodburn Press This link opens in a new window
World Politics Review This link opens in a new window World Politics Review is a unique database and website providing in-depth news and expert analysis on global affairs to help readers identify and make sense of the events and trends shaping our world. WPR readers include top academic institutions, schools, government agencies, think tanks, NGOs and corporations around the world. The most discerning global affairs scholars and professionals in the world trust World Politics Review.

Articles and Databases: Title List

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Fall 2024 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

Articles and Databases: Title List

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff