Web Site: COM 103 Public Speaking: Finding Library Sources

Persuasive Sources

For your persuasive sources, use databases that focus on controversial issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window The Opposing Viewpoints in Context database covers current controversial social subjects, with articles that offer informed, differing views on both sides of each issue.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Primer for "hot topics" in culture and politics. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies covers more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.

Books, Books, and more Books

Parkland Library Catalog

Books, eBooks, Videos, and more!

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window

Online Occupational Outlook Handbook

Free online source. Type in your career choice in the search box on right side.

Occupational Outlook Handbook, Online

Look through all categories in your career:

Nature of the Work
Training, Other Qualifications, and Advancement
Employment
Job Outlook
Projections
Earnings
Wages
Related Occupations
Sources of Additional Information

Multi-database search

Informative Sources

For your Informative Speech, look for unbiased articles or books that introduce a topic.

Use the links below to find different types of sources on a wide range of topics. We may have more specialized tools for specific subject areas--ask a librarian if you aren't having success.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new window Associates Programs Source Plus contains more than 1,700 full-text journals as well as more than 200 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.

A greater range of databases can be found on this page.

Use these to find newspaper articles:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Access The New York Times with our Day Pass. Use this link for instructions.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides full text access to more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers; select full text for more than 370 U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts, including CBS news, CNN, Fox news, NPR and more.

News Gazette The Champaign-Urbana area newspaper website.

Contact Jane

Jane Smith

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Commons
Office number: R234
(behind Research Help Desk)
janesmith@parkland.edu

217-351-2410

General Questions and Reference Assistance

Anytime:

Email Us!

We'll respond within 24 hours of the start of our next business day.

During Library Hours:

telephone picture Voice: (217) 373-3839.

cellphone picture Text: (217) 615-0079.

Chat:

COM 103 Public Speaking: Finding Library Sources

Persuasive Sources

For your persuasive sources, use databases that focus on controversial issues.

Books, Books, and more Books

Online Occupational Outlook Handbook

Multi-database search

Informative Sources

For your Informative Speech, look for unbiased articles or books that introduce a topic.

Use the links below to find different types of sources on a wide range of topics. We may have more specialized tools for specific subject areas--ask a librarian if you aren't having success.

Contact Jane

General Questions and Reference Assistance

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Spring 2024 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

COM 103 Public Speaking: Finding Library Sources

Persuasive Sources

For your persuasive sources, use databases that focus on controversial issues.

Books, Books, and more Books

Online Occupational Outlook Handbook

Multi-database search

Informative Sources

For your Informative Speech, look for unbiased articles or books that introduce a topic.

Use the links below to find different types of sources on a wide range of topics. We may have more specialized tools for specific subject areas--ask a librarian if you aren't having success.

Contact Jane

General Questions and Reference Assistance

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff