It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cochrane Library features Cochrane Reviews--systematic reviews of the literature. You won't get the most hits in this database, some of you won't find anything at all, but if you do it will be high-quality.
There are a couple of ways to go about this.
1. In the top search box, type in your patient characteristic, the intervention(s) you are considering, and/or the outcome you wish. Note that often you won't get results with all three, be prepared to reduce specifics to get more articles to choose from.
2. If you click "Advanced Search," you will see Cochrane has a PICO search beta. Beta means they are testing it and it might not be quite ready. But it can be interesting to see how they assign PICO keywords.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
put multi-word phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "dental hypersensitivity"
try putting in P I (C) and O, but be prepared to reduce specifics to get more results
P + I
P + O
just P or I
This database can be frustrating because it doesn't contain a lot of full text.
Try limiting (left-side column) to Free Full Text.
Otherwise, use the "Before you pay..." box below or contact Raeann to find full text.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree to search. Parkland does not subscribe.*
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
ADHA using CINAHL
Access full text of ADHA publication Journal of Dental Hygiene
Type 1043-254X in text box and in pull down (Select a Field) "IS ISSN" THEN
Type keywords in second text box, third box, etc. This might be title words you found by searching/browsing the ADHA web site.
Or search the database more generally
Under "Search Options" limit your results by some or all:
Careful with these! Each thing you specify reduces the number of articles.
Start with P I (C) and O keywords, but be prepared to reduce specifics.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Full text for more than 1,300 journals plus indexing for more than 5,000. Full text dating back to 1937. More than 3.9 million records. Continuing Education Modules. Evidence-based care sheets. Quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions.
Before you pay...
Before you pay or give up on anything for which you can't find full text, copy and paste the title into this box and search all library resources.