Web Site: LPN 111: Articles & Books

Databases

The following links are to article databases. These are important resources for academic research.

Keywords to try (remember, separate concepts on separate lines):

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models, and research instruments.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Search Strategies:

When you find a book in the Catalog that you like:

Click on the link beneath the book for more information, often a summary or table of contents, to see if the book will be useful to your research.
Click on the terms to the right of Subject (LCSH) to see a list of all the books that have been tagged with that subject heading.
Click on the call number to see books that are around it on the shelf and likely on the same topic.
You can also text yourself the call number!

Now you're ready to go to the shelves to find your books.

Call numbers can be found:
- STACKS location = third floor
When you find a book on the shelf that seems useful to your topic, look around it for other possible resources.
Books in the stacks can be checked out for four weeks. Take your books to the Desk--you must have your Parkland ID!