Web Site: ENG 102 O'Connor: Articles

Tips

Useful Tips:

Look beyond the first 10. There may be good stuff a way down the list.
Research is process. You search for information, read it, assess it for whether it covers your topic and meets your needs, then you take what you learned from the first time and search for information again.
When you see something good, READ IT—look at the subject terms and abstract and turn those around in a revised search.

FAQ

What if I can’t link to full text?
See a librarian! It may be in a different database, available in our paper subscriptions, or available from another library. We can help you navigate those choices.
How do I know which database to try?
The ones on the “Top Five” lists are good places to start. Be sure to check the Subject Specialties tab, and choose a database from there. Or ask a librarian by phone, email or chat.

Find Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models, and research instruments.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Primer for "hot topics" in culture and politics. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies covers more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.
Newsbank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text database with sources from more than 200 countries and all 50 U.S. states. This database includes same-day access to The News-Gazette articles and other local papers as well as newspapers from around the world.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times. Use this link for instructions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection includes full text for high-quality education journals and reports
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.
Veterinary Source This link opens in a new window
Veterinary Source is a full text collection of scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare. International in scope, it is an essential resource for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, assistants, and students. Providing access to research on the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of diseases and injury in animals, it also covers topics related to animal nutrition, reproduction, and breeding.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Off Campus Login

Clicking links on this page may take you to a login page.

Use your ParklandOne login to access library resources.

This is the same login you use for Cobra, my.parkland, etc.
Please contact the library if you have difficulty accessing our resources.
Contact Tech SD to reset your password or get other information about your campus online accounts.

ENG 102 O'Connor: Articles

Tips

Find Articles

Off Campus Login

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Fall 2024 Hours

CLOSED FOR WINTER BREAK

Intersession Hours

Spring 2025 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

ENG 102 O'Connor: Articles

Tips

Find Articles

Off Campus Login

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff