Web Site: ENG 102 / 106 Verstrat: Article Databases

Multi-database search

Trade Publications

Most fields have, along with professional or trade associations, publications (newsletters, magazines and journals) that people read to stay current in the field. So an English teacher might read College English or Teaching English in the Two Year College. A farmer may read Illinois Farm Reports or Prairie Farmer. An Occupational Therapist would read OT Practice or American Journal of Occupational Therapy.

Trade publications are usually limited to a specific field and may have ads, continuing education info and more. Professional publications are more likely to be scholarly reports of research in the field.

Use Journal Finder to browse publications in a specific field.

Select "Trade Publications" in Academic Search Complete or other databases.

Find Articles

A few more resources to find articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers...

Use these for articles on most topics:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.

Use this resource for newspaper articles:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Type search terms in the Search the News box.

Use these for Controversial Topics:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Background information reports on topics of current interest with great suggestions of more books and articles in the bibliography section.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
(opinions of experts)
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies covers more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.

Databases by Title

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window “Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.”
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new window Database provides full-text coverage for the subject areas most relevant to two-year college programs, including biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Primer for "hot topics" in culture and politics. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Full-length theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic, and chamber music. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides
Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. Brought to you in partnership with Global Eagle, this high-interest collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Get information on careers and industries, as well as help with resumes, cover letters, and interviews.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window "GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records."
Health Source Consumer This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window International Clinical Educators, Inc. offers streaming video and multimedia texts of particular interest to Neuro/Ortho/Peds/Occupational Therapy.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies covers more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Libby This link opens in a new window Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from the library for free with the Libby app.
LSC Author Talks This link opens in a new window
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window Access The New York Times with our Day Pass. Use this link for instructions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection includes full text for high-quality education journals and reports
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free to search. Parkland does not subscribe.* The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Saskia Art Image Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.
Swank Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Veterinary Source This link opens in a new window Veterinary Source is a full text collection of scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare. International in scope, it is an essential resource for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, assistants, and students. Providing access to research on the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of diseases and injury in animals, it also covers topics related to animal nutrition, reproduction, and breeding.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Woodburn Press This link opens in a new window

ENG 102 / 106 Verstrat: Article Databases

Multi-database search

Trade Publications

Find Articles

Databases by Title

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Spring 2024 Hours

Summer I 2024 Hours

Summer II 2024 Hours

Summer III 2024 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

ENG 102 / 106 Verstrat: Article Databases

Multi-database search

Trade Publications

Find Articles

Databases by Title

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff