Web Site: CHE 104: Articles

Searching for Articles in Databases

Use this page as a starting point for finding articles for your literature review. Remember, there are many other resources you can use. If you can't find articles that fit your topic, ask a Librarian!

Off Campus Login

Clicking links on this page may take you to a login page.

Use your ParklandOne login to access library resources.

This is the same login you use for Cobra, my.parkland, etc.
Please contact the library if you have difficulty accessing our resources.
Contact Tech SD to reset your password or get other information about your campus online accounts.

Related Guides

Information Literacy
by Jane Smith Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 81 views this year

Article Databases

General Subject Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Science Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Core scientific literature, including titles such as THE LANCET, Cell, and Tetrahedron. Contains more than 2,500 journals, and more than nine million full-text articles.

Health Literature Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models, and research instruments.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free to search. Parkland does not subscribe.*

The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Keywords vs. Controlled Vocabulary

How are keywords different from controlled vocabulary? What are the advantages and disadvantages of key words? When is controlled vocabulary useful?

Keywords vs. Subjects
A guide from MIT.

CHE 104: Articles

Searching for Articles in Databases

Off Campus Login

Related Guides

Article Databases

Keywords vs. Controlled Vocabulary

Academic Search Ultimate Tutorial

Boolean Searching Basics with KateTheLibrarian

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Fall 2024 Hours

CLOSED FOR WINTER BREAK

Intersession Hours

Spring 2025 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

CHE 104: Articles

Searching for Articles in Databases

Off Campus Login

Related Guides

Article Databases

Keywords vs. Controlled Vocabulary

Academic Search Ultimate Tutorial

Boolean Searching Basics with KateTheLibrarian

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff