Web Site: CHE 203: Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

How do I find these articles?

How do I find these journal articles?

Use Databases. Unfortunately, Parkland doesn't have access to the best databases for Chemistry (Scifinder, Web of Science and Scopus). Try the ones below for citations by your scientist. You may have to look at several.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for articles in the sciences. Not historic, so it will not have older articles.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's database and is useful if your scientist's work has biomedical implications. This is a "free, on the web" database that has limited full text availability.

ACS Journals
Lets you search by author's name for articles and books published by the American Chemical Society. It will only give you the citation -- you'll need to use Interlibrary loan (see below) or go to UI to make a copy of the article. Ask a librarian for more details on how to do this.
Highwire Press
Allows you to search a limited number of scientific publications. It does search Science, and the Parkland Library has this journal back to 1958.
Google Scholar
Google's database of peer-reviewed and scholarly articles. It's big but not comprehensive. Sometimes you can get full text, but many times you cannot -- don't pay for articles. Talk with a librarian first about interlibrary loan

Getting the actual articles

Once you have citations, you can use:

Journal Finder
Check if Parkland Library owns the journal.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Request a copy of the article. THIS PROCESS CAN TAKE 10 DAYS to 2 WEEKS, so if you're short on time, go to the next option.
UIUC Library Online Catalog
Search the UIUC Library catalog (Use the JOURNALS tab) to see if U of I owns a journal, and in which library (Chemistry Library, Agriculture Library, Main Stacks, etc.) the copies of the journal can be located. Be sure to take money to pay for parking (75 cents an hour) and photocopying and TAKE YOUR USB DRIVE in case you can scan to that.

Confused? Take your questions to a librarian -- we're happy to help!

Subject Guide

Jane Smith

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Commons
Office number: R234
(behind Research Help Desk)
janesmith@parkland.edu

217-351-2410

Peer Review in 5 minutes

Here's a great overview of peer review!

Interlibrary Loan

If the book or article you need is not available here, we can often borrow materials from other libraries. Articles may arrive via email OR need to be picked up in person. It generally takes 2 weeks for an item to be sent.

Interlibrary Loan Policies
Learn about using Interlibrary Loan at Parkland College.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form

CHE 203: Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

CHE 203 Project Guidelines

How do I find these articles?

Subject Guide

Peer Review in 5 minutes

Interlibrary Loan

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff

Spring 2024 Hours

Holidays and Breaks

Contact

Explore the Website

CHE 203: Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

CHE 203 Project Guidelines

How do I find these articles?

Subject Guide

Peer Review in 5 minutes

Interlibrary Loan

Library Materials

Services

Programs & Collections

Faculty & Staff