Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Green Roofs and Living Walls: Finding Articles

A guide to information about green roofs and living walls and how to create them. Supports CIT 135 Construction Practices and Sustainability.

Narrow your search!


If your initial search results in too many results:

  • Use additional search terms
  • Try synonyms for your original term(s)
  • Search for full-text articles only
  • Limit your search to more recent materials, the last five years, for example
  • Contact a librarian if you need help!

Articles of Interest

Ask a Librarian!

For general questions and reference and research assistance.

(217) 373-3839

 library@parkland.edu

2400 West Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821

Databases on This Topic

GreenFile -- collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more 

Academic Search Premier -- best for scholarly/ peer reviewed journal articles

 Green Roof Tree of Knowledge -- full-featured database on research and policy related to green roof infrastructure

 

Use these to find newspaper articles:

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Newspaper Source

Inaugural Green Roof Installed at Parkland

Parkland Library green roof installation. More images on our Facebook page.

Tips

Useful Tips:

  • Look beyond the first 10.  There may be good stuff a way down the list.
  • Research is process. You search for information, read it, assess it for whether it covers your topic and meets your needs, then you take what you learned from the first time and search for information again.
  • When you see something good, READ IT—look at the subject terms and abstract and turn those around in a revised search.

FAQ

  • What if I can’t link to full text?
  • See a librarian!  It may be in a different database, available in our paper subscriptions, or available from another library.  We can help you navigate those choices.
  • How do I know which database to try?
  • The ones on the “Top Five” lists are good places to start.  Be sure to check the Subject Specialties tab, and choose a database from there.  Or ask a librarian by phone, email or chat

Off Campus Login

Clicking links on this page may take you to a login page. 

Use your ParklandOne login to access library resources.  

  • This is the same login you use for Cobra, my.parkland, etc.
  • Please contact the library if you have difficulty accessing our resources.
  • Contact Tech SD to reset your password or get other information about your campus online accounts.

Parkland College Library
2400 West Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821

217/373-3839
Fax: 217/351-2581