Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Records Retention Information

This guide provides information about the Parkland College Archives, including rules and regulations for use, location and hours, and information about the collections.

History of the Records Management Program

The Archives and Records Management Office (ARMO) was established in October 1979 when records management was integrated with the College Archives by President Staerkel as a sub-unit of the office of the Vice President. The acting college archivist was responsible for the management, storage, and disposal of college records until 2002. In 2017, an initiative began to create a centralized records management program and in 2019 the Records Coordinator position was created. The records management program is a College-wide management program which ensures conformity to the Illinois State Records Act (5 ILCS 160/), Local Records Act (50 ILCS 205/), and the Freedom of Information Act (5 ILCS 140/) among others.

Purpose

The purpose of the Records Management Program is to assist the offices and units of Parkland College with creating inventories, retention recommendations, and disposal of official College public records in compliance with applicable laws, institutional policies, and industry best practices.

Records Management Services

The Records Coordinator can help with:

  • Retention and Disposal Requirements
  • Streamlining Work Processes
  • Document Inventory
  • Document Scanning Guidance
  • Understanding Policies, Procedures, and Guidelines
  • Records Management Training
  • Inactive Records Storage

What is a record?

What is a Public Record?

According to the State Records Act (5 ILCS 160/2):

"All books, papers, digitized electronic material, maps, photographs, databases, or other official documentary materials, regardless of physical form or characteristics, made, produced, executed, or received by any agency in the State in pursuance of State law or in connection with the transaction of public business and preserved or appropriate for preservation by that agency or its successor as evidence of the organization, functions, policies, decisions, procedures, operations, or other activities of the State or of the State Government, or because of the informational data contained therein." 

In short, a public record is any document, physical or electronic, that notes decisions and transactions which support various college functions. This includes photos, audio, audiovisual, and machine-readable materials.

What is NOT a Record?

Documents that are not considered public records are duplicates, library materials, draft versions or working materials, and transitory information. Documents with transitory information are not essential for understanding the business of the college and are typically temporary. 

State and Local Government Records Management Laws and Programs

Contact Information

For questions regarding records access, management, or disposal, contact the Records Coordinator: 

Amanda Avery

AAvery@parkland.edu

Guidelines for Using Electronic Records

Record Retention at Parkland College

According to the Illinois Local Records Act, all records created in official capacity by the employees of government agencies must follow the Application for Authority to Dispose of Local Records (Records Retention and Disposition Schedule) set in place by the agency and the Local Records Commission. If you need help with managing your physical or digital records, contact the Records Coordinator for assistance.

Refer to Policy 3.10 Records in the Policies and Procedures Manual as well as the Retention and Disposition Schedule for guidance specifically relating to Parkland College. For more information about the Act, check out the Legal Resources tab on this guide. If you have questions about records management, contact the Records Coordinator!

Parkland College Library
2400 West Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821

217/373-3839
Fax: 217/351-2581